Panem Propaganda is a Hunger Games fan site and your source for everything from the nation of Panem. We are a fan created and maintained website. We're inspired by and supported by you, our fellow Hunger Games fans.






More 'Mockingjay' Details from Francis Lawrence and EW

Entertainment Weekly published a few more tidbits from their recent interview with Mockingjay director Francis Lawrence yesterday (see the scans of the Fall Movie Preview Issue HERE).


Having gone through the games one more time and having lost Peeta and having been run through the wringer, she’s even more damaged. So you find her in a more agitated place. She’s distraught, confused, angry.”

Collins’ final book presents a gritty narrative about Katniss’ role in the rebellion to overthrow the Capitol, with grim scenes of wartime brutality as the teen heroine struggles with the psychological consequences wrought by violence. But, says Lawrence, the upcoming installment won’t be entirely somber.

“There’s definitely some battles. There’s some of the first glimpses of real war in this movie. And the scale gets quite big,” he reveals. “There’s an atonal shift from some of the last movies, but they’re still very emotional, very sweeping, [on a] grand scale with some levity and humor.”

“Instead of changing the plot and changing characters what we did was have the opportunity to show scenes that could have been happening at different times in the book,” Lawrence says. “For us it’s world expansion instead of changing things. I think it’s exciting for the fan to see certain things. So we’ve been able to open the world up in this and see some new places. We get to see some new districts this time and the scope gets quite large.”

There’s also the addition of cast member Julianne Moore as rebel President Alma Coin, a character whose role has been expanded for the upcoming films. President Coin—who becomes reluctant allies with Katniss Everdeen in the rebellion’s efforts to overthrow President Snow—was written by author Suzanne Collins through Katniss’s perspective as narrator; she is perceived as ambitious and egotistical. But with Moore’s involvement, Lawrence says, the gray-haired politician’s role in his two-part finale has expanded significantly beyond her portrayal in the bestselling Hunger Games series..

“She actually sort of tracked us down and had an interest in the books through her kids,” Lawrence says. "She didn’t audition. Once we knew she wanted it, that was it—done,” Lawrence says, laughing. “I sat down with her, she had great ideas, we got along and that was it.”

“What’s interesting is although she’s a huge character in Mockingjay the book, there’s actually very little of her in it,” notes Lawrence. “There’s more of her in this than in the book and because of that, there’s some development. I think the character has developed into something pretty amazing. And Julianne was a big part of that.”

But one thing thing that won’t change? That’d be the love triangle between Katniss (Jennifer Lawrence), Gale (Liam Hemsworth), and Peeta (Josh Hutcherson).

“With Mockingjay – Part I it’s tricky because Peeta is out of reach for her,” notes the director. “Obviously he becomes an objective for her, but Gale is right there, so that’s always a tricky situation.”

While Lawrence won’t reveal how he divided the final book in Suzanne Collins’ trilogy (“That’s going to be one of the really good surprises,” he says), he shares that the films will have “two different, very distinct stories.”

“Those objectives became the motives for us,” Lawrence explains. “This is where the meaning of the entire series comes into play. The answer to why these books exist exists in Mockingjay, and that’s really been exciting to me. That’s been kind of what I’ve hung on to through these stories.”



Network TV Premiere of 'The Hunger Games' on ABC Family Oct 10th

Some of you may remember reading about ABC Family acquiring the rights to The Hunger Games and its sequels back in 2012, after the success of the first film. According to a press release, they're finally set to air The Hunger Games in its network television premiere on October 10th at 8pm ET/PT.

The movie will repeat on Saturday, October 11th and Sunday, October 12th at 8pm ET/PT. 



Happy Birthday Jennifer Lawrence!

Happy 24th birthday to the one and only Jennifer Lawrence! We're so lucky  - and proud  - to have you bring our Katniss Everdeen to life in The Hunger Games films. Our best wishes to you from everyone here at Panem Propaganda!



'Mockingjay Part 1' Featured in Entertainment Weekly's Fall Movie Preview

Many thanks to for the untagged still.

A new still of Katniss Everdeen and details on her grittier new appearance in The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1 are featured in Entertainment Weekly's latest Fall Movie Preview issue. EW talked with Francis Lawrence about Katniss' transition to reluctant rebel leader and some of the visual aspects of the film. 


The digital issue has an interactive photo with additional details on Katniss and Mockingjay:


1. Melancholy Mood

Mockingjay introduces a more somber color palette in its new costumes and locales, including rebel headquarters in District 13. "You're sort of hit with the harsh reality of the consequences of war," director Francis Lawrence says.

2. Straight Shooter

After shooting the Hunger Games movies, Jennifer Lawrence has become quite the archer. She didn't have to practice too much says her director. True to Suzanne Collins' novel, it's Jeffrey Wright's Beetee who designs Katniss' new arrows with special explosive capabilities.

3. Combat-Ready

Katniss dons sleek body armour with protective boots, knee and elbow pads, and a tailor-made chest plate that sparkles with an iridescent indigo sheen recalling the feather-trimmed gown she wore in Catching Fire. "It's the warrior version of her mockingjay look," says the director.

4. A Rebel's Reminder

Katniss' trademark gold-plated mockingjay pin had been exchanged for a new black-on-black token. "Stylistically, this is something that Cinna designed for her before he was beaten in Catching Fire," Francis Lawrence says.


OK, who else is dying to get their hands on one of those matte black Mockingjay pins? Someone please make them immediately. 

The digital issue is available now and the magazine hits newsstands Friday.

Many thanks to our friends at for the larger and untagged version of the Katniss still at the top of the article! 


Photos From The First Press Day For 'Mockingjay Part 1'

And so it begins... The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1 had its first press day yesterday! Both Lionsgate and Elizabeth Banks posted this cute shot of Liam Hemsworth, Elizabeth and Jennifer Lawrence to social media last night. 


Elizabeth shared another angle of the shot (above) today to tumblr

Willow Shields posted this snap to her instagram with the caption, "Feeling fancy. Press day for Mockingjay Part 1!"

A couple additional shots of Elizabeth and Willow were also shared around social media:

Photos thanks to @HGNewsChannel


Tara Bennett tweeted that she interviewed Francis Lawrence (@Hibbits on twitter) for a Sci Fi Magazine article. We'll be looking forward to that one, Tara!! FYI, last year Tara wrote the cover story on Catching Fire for Sci Fi's December 2013 issue. It hit newsstands October 13th - ish if you're trying to figure out when we'll see all of this press. 


 Thanks to our friends at @HGNewsChannel and @Larrs9325 for the tips.